Colter Frazier: The Colter Frazier Quartet (PFMCD052)


Rob Wallace: drums/percussion
Miles Jay: bass
Nick Coventry: viola/violin
Colter Frazier: tenor saxophone

Recorded (May 20–21, 2008) and mixed/mastered (June 4 and 14, 2008)
by Wayne Peet, Newzone Studio, Los Angeles, CA

Produced by Colter Frazier

Cover painting “Dream” by Nikola Toplev,
(used by permission of the artist)

Band photos by Kara Attrep

Graphic assistance by Ted Killian

Special thanks to Jeff Kaiser, Chloe Coventry and Brian Twoomy, and to Pavlov Art Gallery in Solvang, CA

1. Lloyd’s Prayer (7:55)
2. Hopes of Reunification (5:45)
3. Where000 (5:27)
4. 4 Days and 5 Months (4:39)
5. August Ballad (3:04)
6. Late Again (6:04)
7. Flight School for Sparrow (5:58)
8. Unknown Strain II (4:50)
9. Lunch with Osby (5:32)
10. Lonely Friday (3:46)
11. 1-22-07 (2:56)
12. Focus (5:19)

All compositions by Colter Frazier (©2008 Colter Frazier Music, ASCAP)
except “Flight School for Sparrow,” composed by Miles Jay



SKU: PFMCD052 Category:

1 review for Colter Frazier: The Colter Frazier Quartet (PFMCD052)

  1. 0 out of 5

    Joined here by Nick Coventry (viola, violin), Miles Jay (bass), and duet partner Rob Wallace (drums), tenor saxophonist and composer Colter Frazier has put together a startlingly original and polished record of brilliant postmodern jazz. The opener, “Lloyd’s Prayer,” simmers and then boils with the energy of Frazier’s distinctive playing, which grows more confident with his every outing. Taken as a whole, the record is among the most mature and beautiful jazz debuts in recent memory, and it ought to propel Frazier into the international limelight as both a player and a composer. Highlights include the staccato swing and beautiful bebop lines of “4 Days and 5 Months” and the bittersweet West Coast cool-meets-Ornette Coleman flavor of “Flight School for Sparrows [sic].” This is great, uncompromising experimental music that still manages to be entirely listenable on every track.

    Charles Donelan, The Santa Barbara Independent, September 19, 2008

Add a Review

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.